my King’s anthem

Standard

Anthem. Dictionary.com says it means,

1. a song, as of praise, devotion, or patriotism: the national anthem of Spain; our college anthem.

2. a piece of sacred vocal music, usually with words taken from the Scriptures.

3. a hymn sung alternately by different sections of a choir or congregation.

***

That word came as a whisper and was impressed on my heart just out of the blue. I remember that day. It was just a few days prior to the Young Methodist Leaders’ Conference 2009 (YMLC) that I attended over 5 – 7 September at Pulai Springs, Johor Bahru, Malaysia. Anthem. I was at the bus stop after work, waiting for the public to come and take me home and then wham, it just came upon me like that. It meant little to me at that point in time.

Then came YMLC and 2 of the songs selected by the worship teams (from various churches for different service times) had the word ‘anthem’ in it. I’ve hardly noticed any worship songs with that word in it, and I’m not super familiar with these 2 songs. The songs are ‘All Majesty’ and ‘I Adore’. They charmed my heart obviously, egged on by what was earlier placed upon my heart.

What does the word ‘anthem’ even mean to me then, you might ask? I’ve no idea. But when the word crept stealthily into my vocabulary once again, I know my heart soars with my King’s anthem. His Kingdom’s anthem. His songs of praise, songs that glorify His name.

I remember that familiar Isaiah passage, where God sent Isaiah the prophet to be His mouthpiece to the people,

“And I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”Isaiah 6:8-9 And truly here I am, waving to Him, in avail. I know He knows my heart, my deepest passions and I know this time, however long it will be, where I am right now is an essential time of equipping me, discovery of my giftings and talents, learning submission and waiting.

Waiting.

3 thoughts on “my King’s anthem

Leave a Reply

