The Commonality of Humanity

Standard

I took the day off after a morning appointment at the doctor’s and just wanted some time to myself. Trying to deal with the mass of emotions that I feel, I thought a swim would help clear my head up a bit.

At the pool, while settling aside my keys, goggles and stuff, I noticed a boy much younger than me, awkwardly moving towards the pool. He was looking all around, and waving at people. I thought he waved at me. I stared back blankly. Do I know him? I had enough to deal with for the day already, without having to wonder what this guy is up to.

I turned to look around and could see no one. I could see him trying to get the attention of other people around – neighbours passing by, cleaners, road sweepers. He waved at them all.

Deciding to just mind my own business, I turned to the pool, and got started on my 20 laps. He too got into the pool and commenced his strokes.

Closing in on Lap 18, I saw the boy standing at the shallower end of the pool, and waving to the security guard. As the guard started walking over to the pool, the boy dived into the water and swam away. Seriously, I thought, this boy is getting weirder and weirder by the minute.

Then it dawned me on how much common point humanity really has. Even though different strokes work for different folks, he was really trying, in his own awkward (in my eyes) way to reach out to others, acknowledging the age-old human need for friendship, assurance and comfort from a fellow human being. Aside from God.

If a person comes to you with a need, do you tell that person you’ll pray for him/her and take no further action? If a person needs an encouraging word, a word of assurance, do you simply tell him/her to pray about his/her situation? He put us here on earth in communities because we all need God with skin on.

So he really was waving at me. Next time if I see him again, I’ll be sure to wave back.

4 thoughts on “The Commonality of Humanity

  1. This is a good example for all of us to be mindful of those who pass through our lives. Sometimes it can seem really awkward; especially for someone such as me who tends to be awkward during initial encounters. For me this requires continuous effort and a knowing that apart from God I would be a disaster.

    I haven’t been by in a while. Actually, I was going through my blogroll to stop by where I hadn’t been in a while and to see who was still out here. I’m glad that you’re still around.

    Have a blessed day in Jesus.

    timbob

  2. I like how you said that we all need God with skin on. It is very true. We need to understand that Jesus is in us and we can reflect his light to the world. When we do that we are sharing a small piece of God with the world. So there you have it…God with skin on. Though we are not God we are a reflection of Him.

    Great Post.

Leave a Reply

