those grey areas

Standard

I’ve been pondering about the same issue over and over for the longest time until I can’t tell whether it’s white, black, grey or blue anymore and I’m talking about things that the Bible does not specifically talk about.

The Bible is dead clear on issues on murder, honoring your parents, coveting your neighbour’s property but appears silent on others.

Out of frustration, I dropped D a message on MSN and asked him this. “Tell me what the Bibles says (right or wrong) on murder, honoring parents and [insert grey area issue] and then maybe we have our answer on whether the issue is right or wrong in His eyes.” No response.

Even within our small group, we have differing views on these grey areas. I guess that’s why the issues fall into grey areas right? One feels it’s outwardly either right or wrong. Another feels that God called us to be like Abraham (‘When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to him and said, “I am El-Shaddai—‘God Almighty.’ Serve me faithfully and live a blameless life.” Genesis 17:1, emphasis mine). Me, I believe God is clearly black and white on issues on morality. See that’s the tricky thing about grey area matters. They appear innocent yet they are potential pitfalls in our Christian walk.

This morning, I got a MSN reply from D. What a time lag. “I was doing my quiet time this morning and this is what spoke to me in answer.”

” 16Now a man came up to Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?”17″Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, obey the commandments.”18″Which ones?” the man inquired. Jesus replied, ” ‘Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, 19honor your father and mother, and love your neighbor as yourself. ” 20″All these I have kept,” the young man said. “What do I still lack?” 21Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.” 22When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth. 23Then Jesus said to his disciples, “I tell you the truth, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven. 24Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” Matthew 19:16-24 (emphasis mine)

Wow ok. Time lag was worth it. In His time it seems.

What struck me was 1) Gosheroos, God, You’re timely 2) that His word CAN indeed have new meaning and give new insight (let me go throw away that God-box) 3) how prideful I’ve been to contain Him again and again (sorry, Father). This is how the passage is speaking to me. He calls us to an eternal life with Him by accepting and doing as He so commands. He calls us into a relationship and discipleship by asking us to love Him, devote our lives to Him and let Him take over, so that we can become perfected by Him, and become more perfect (and more like Him who is the image of perfection).

Which brings me to question this. How much do we want that intimate relationship with Him? How often we just wanna play things safe and just minimally follow His commands, assured of our salvation. Sounds like that doesn’t equate up to being a relationship with Him. Command-led life, Spirit-led life. Law, His Spirit. Jesus consistently, and always, calls us to the latter.

How are you treating your faith today?

“The LORD appeared to us in the past, [ Or LORD has appeared to us from afar ] saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with loving-kindness.” Jeremiah 31:3

Leave a Reply

