Today God Is First

Standard

After some time of procrastination, I finally subscribed to TGIF to receive daily devotionals that spiritually feeds Christian workers in the marketplace after being seconded to a day job (boo). This article in particular really spoke to me when I read it and it still speaks to me even as I re-read it.

Today God Is First.

I really like the ring to that. I like waking up and knowing that God made the day and in His grace, allowed for another beautiful day to start.

In particular, what spoke to me through this article was about healing from affliction. There are times when I wonder whether I was ever completely healed. There are times also when I go back there and blame (and thank) God for whatever happened.

“God does not waste our afflictions if we allow Him the freedom to complete the work in us. His desire is to create virtue that remains during the times of testing so that He can bring us into the place of fruitfulness in the very area of our testing. He has never promised to keep us from entering the valleys of testing, but He has promised to make us fruitful in them. He is the God who turns the Valley of Achor (trouble) into a door of hope (see Hos. 2:15).”

I’ve been feeling rather dried out for a while. This reminds me that our God is a God that is faithful to His promises, and He’s the only one who CAN make promises that sticks.

And today is a day where I just want to write and not have to bother about structure of my blog entry. I’d really like to encourage other works in the marketplace to subscribe to the devotions too. ๐Ÿ™‚

6 thoughts on “Today God Is First

  1. โ€œIf ye love me, keep my commandments.โ€
    {St John 14 v15}.

    All who love Jesus and are truly saved will try to keep His commandments, for we show Him our love by keeping them. Jesus said, โ€œHe that hath my commandments, and keepeth them, he it is that loveth me; and he that loveth me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him and will manifest myself to him.โ€ St John 14 v 21.

    So you see, to claim that we are Christians, yes, followers of Christ, we must show that we are Christ like in our lives, there must be a distinction between the church and the world. If we live like the world then we will be condemned with the world, but if we try to live like Jesus wants us to live, by keeping His commandments, then His blood will cleanse us from all sin, and His promise is that He will prepare a place for us in heaven.

    Jesus said, โ€œIn my Fathers house are many mansions; if it were not so I would have told you, I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.โ€ St John 14 v 2:3. You see Jesus has shown us the way.

    If we follow Jesus and keep His commandments then we keep in His love, just as Jesus kept in His Fathers love by keeping His Fathers commandments. Let us always be found abiding in His love, for He has chosen us for His kingdom. When the bridegroom cometh will your robes be white? Pure and white in the blood of the Lamb? Will your soul be ready for the mansions bright, And be washed in the blood of the Lamb?

    โ€œAnd this is His commandment, That we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ, and love one another, as He gave us commandment.
    And He that keepeth His commandments dwelleth in Him, and He in Him And hereby we know that He abideth in us, by the Spirit which He hath given usโ€, {1 John 3 v 23:24}.

    It is a thing most wonderful, Almost too wonderful to be, That Godโ€™s own Son should come from heaven, And die to save a child like me. Oh, it was love, itโ€™ was wonderous love;
    The love of God to me; itโ€™ brought my Saviour from above, To die on Calvary.

  2. clare

    Oh dear i know this situation too well. Some days (which is very often, almost everyday haha) i just hurl whatever crap i can at God just cos i’m hurting. lols At the same time, what’s happened is past, it’s mostly just the haunt of memories or physical reminders.

    I just try to remember the virtues i’ve gained along the way and try not to think about my losses (which i do, often and being the hurlingcrap thing again). And it’s a daily struggle but i just have to keep reminding myself that it all has a purpose (altho rationally i consider it unneccessary suffering) –

    even if it’s the smallest thing like coming into contact with certain people, or just having more stories to bear witness to with awakened senses.

    i wonder if being Christian is impossible (i am so disgruntled some days i can just curl up and rot) without any sort of difficulty but i guess that’s how saints are made? Ha

    are you sure you didn’t rearrange ur entry, in that case i need to borrow some orderly thinking from you.

  3. clare, really lah ๐Ÿ™‚ and thanks for sharing. at least i know i’m not the only one going through such days.

    azaria: hello! ๐Ÿ™‚ i can’t go guan’s. going krabi! ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. What a great find–I found a site where a man narrates the bible in different versions (NIV, KJV, Amplified, etc) and it’s free. What a blessing it is.

    Have a wonderful Christmas and blessed New Year!

Leave a Reply

