Lessons I learnt from Ian

Standard

My nerves are somewhat more settled today. I’m still restless and tired. Trying to get myself working even as I have to make sure next week’s shop opening party is a hit. I will get my act together.

In honour of my life-loving friend who ran the good race ahead of all of us and has safely arrived at the house of the Lord, I thought I’d put together my final words, thoughts and feelings, along with lessons I’ve learnt.

Ian taught me:
– To be fearless, courageous, and to go ahead with whatever I know God has called me to. In other words, he lived his name (faith) and taught me about living my life with faith in our Lord.

– That everybody has a nice side to them, no matter how irritating or obnoxious they can appear at times. I learnt to love the people he loved. And I learnt that there are too many small things we just ought to close one eye to and not harp on them too much.

– That when a person is a soldier of God and lives his life as a true soldier of God, he too can plant seeds in people’s hearts, people that he has touched in his life.

“I tell you the truth, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds.” John 12:24

I learnt that it is time to stop leaning on Ian for things because God wants those seeds that have been planted to grow. I have to be whatever he taught me to be and to go forth in faith.

– Family love. And how to love people. And how different people simply have different ways of showing their love. Ian’s love for people came in form of being very harsh with his words at times. But it was always his brutal honesty that I appreciated, no matter how difficult the words were to hear.

– that GOD IS GOOD. That He has triumphed over eternal death and has given us eternal life. That great gift from God, I finally witnessed for myself. I am just gonna miss my brother Ian for a while because I cannot see him for a while and bicker with him.

– To live out the verse:

“In everything I did, I showed you that by this kind of hard work we must help the weak, remembering the words the Lord Jesus himself said: ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’ “ Acts 20:35

He always gives more than he cares to receive. He’s the one who gets people together at BBQs while he provides all the food. He’s the one who drove me to his office from Katong to Pandan Loop at 11pm so that I can zap some document templates from him for work. He’s the one who came to help us with our shop renovation even when he’s sick and left a HUGE bottle of water for us simply because he saw the need in advance. He’s the one who asked my sister to take whatever else she wants from his place for the shop if she needs it. He’s the one who adopted Esther the husky because he would never let a dog go without a home. He’s also the one who tried to teach me to cook and the one who ripped his brother’s car’s front bumper (I hope he still doesn’t know) on his craters because I asked him to drop me off at church after my cooking lesson. I hardly meet anybody who gives and gives and gives and doesn’t grumble. Ok wait, he does whine, but he does it anyway and still doesn’t ask for anything in return. He’s also the one who lets me drop by at my whim and fancy and take stuff that I need. That’s our Ian.

Thank you for the lessons. And above all, thank you, Lord, for using him to plant seeds in our lives.

Leave a Reply

