His grace

Standard

I admit that the topic on God’s grace always baffles me. Decided to read up more on it and decided that no one can really put the best description of grace forth but I’m currently attempting Charles Swindoll’s The Grace Awakening. I think we all need to extend that extra grace to somebody every day. It could be a friend who always puts you down. It could be your mother, who forbids you to do this and that even though you’re already past 30.

A lovely quote I found in the book, amidst the first few pages where I currently am:

Love that goes upward is worship; love that goes outward is affection; love that stoops is grace.” – late pastor and Bible scholar Donald Barnhouse

***

In a world that is vastly dominated by Western influences, I live in a society where Asians have English names. It just ain’t cool to be called Xiaoming or Huizhi because they appear unpronounceable to the foreigner’s tongue. It’s also alot cooler to be called Karen or Cynthia or Peter (we’re talking about non-Christian Asians) perhaps partly due to the Christian influences in Asia in the early days where the church is affiliated with the affluent and influential.

My dad never believed in any of that (maybe somebody should remind him about HIS own English name 🙂 and decided his kids ought to have Chinese names. Never forget your roots, he says. He sure gave us difficult-to-pronounce names. My sister and I grew up feeling awkward about who we are, because of how people badly distort our name. My dad put an ‘En’ into my name, which means ‘Grace’ but he really meant to name me after Zhou Enlai, a Communist premier. My dad’s no Communist but just admire the man and the richness of the Chinese culture.

Funny how God had other ideas in mind when He gave me that name. How delightful to know He knew me from day 1 (as an egg!).

Twas grace that saved me. In grace we live. And by His grace, we will receive Him with everflowing joy in the age to come.

For it was you who formed my inward parts; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.” Psalm 139:13

4 thoughts on “His grace

  1. “I think we all need to extend that extra grace to somebody every day.”

    Everyone could use more grace in their life. As followers of Christ we should show more Christ like behavior- forgiving and praying for our friends, neighbors, and enemies.

  2. Greetings. I think that understanding Gods grace is a lifelong process. Of continuously discovering deeper levels of Gods grace and the awesomeness of our great salvation. The statement by Pastor Davi Barnhouse is a very telling one. Thanks for posting.

    Have a blessed day in Christ.

    timbob

  3. Putting Amazing Back into Grace by Michael Horton is another great book about grace!

    I agree that it’s a lifelong process. We need to see Christ central to EVERYTHING, recognizing God’s hand and heart throughout Scripture. It was just pointed out to me how many times God protected and warned Lot — showing His patience, care, love, heart…His grace.

    What a God we serve!

Leave a Reply

